Thursday, September 14, 2017

Romancing Mister Bridgerton by Julia Quinn (Audio Edition)

Narrated by Rosalyn Landor
Series: Bridgertons, book 4

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ Colin and Penelope have a wonderful relationship. I enjoyed watching Colin fall in love with her. I love Lady Whistledown and Lady Danbury!.. Julia Quinn writes the best older “I-don't-care-what-anyone-thinks” type of ladies.  I do have to say though.. as this audiobook has the 2nd epilogue attached, if this were my first time reading this story I would prefer to wait to read all the 2nd epilogues, till after I had read the original 8 stories.   As some details for the next books in the series are given away.


Rosalyn Landor does a fantastic job on narration, as always!


The Blurb:

Everyone knows that Colin Bridgerton is the most charming man in London. Penelope Featherington has secretly adored her best friend's brother for...well, it feels like forever. After half a lifetime of watching Colin Bridgerton from afar, she thinks she knows everything about him, until she stumbles across his deepest secret...and fears she doesn't know him at all.

Colin Bridgerton is tired of being thought nothing but an empty-headed charmer, tired of everyone's preoccupation with the notorious gossip columnist Lady Whistledown, who can't seem to publish an edition without mentioning him in the first paragraph. But when Colin returns to London from a trip abroad he discovers nothing in his life is quite the same - especially Penelope Featherington! The girl haunting his dreams. But when he discovers that Penelope has secrets of her own, this elusive bachelor must decide...is she his biggest threat - or his promise of a happy ending?

Tuesday, September 05, 2017

The Duchess Deal by Tessa Dare (Audio Edition)

Narrated by Mary Jane Wells

Series: Girl Meets Duke, book 1

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ This book was FANTASTIC!! It was SUPER FUNNY and had me laughing within the first few paragraphs! The writing was superb, the use of uncommonly used words, in just the right spots made all the difference. The wounded/tortured hero is not my favourite plot line, as usually I find them too sulky or whiny. This book did not conform to that.  While Ash did sulk, he did so with flair and wit.

I loved how Ash was actually a good person, how he longs to love her..  and how sometimes he just can't stop himself from doing so- even when he tries to.  Emma was a strong leading lady, she stood up for what she wanted and didn't let Ash get away with anything. She kept pushing his boundaries and they had wonderful chemistry together.

The narration fantastic! Mary Jane Wells has a style all her own and pulls out the sarcastic wit that was needed for this audiobook to succeed!

I highly recommend this book and I am sad it is over…  because how will the next book I read compare?!?!


The Blurb:

When girl meets Duke, their marriage breaks all the rules… 

Since his return from war, the Duke of Ashbury’s to-do list has been short and anything but sweet: brooding, glowering, menacing London ne’er-do-wells by night. Now there’s a new item on the list. He needs an heir—which means he needs a wife. When Emma Gladstone, a vicar’s daughter turned seamstress, appears in his library wearing a wedding gown, he decides on the spot that she’ll do.

His terms are simple:
- They will be husband and wife by night only.
- No lights, no kissing.
- No questions about his battle scars.
- Last, and most importantly… Once she’s pregnant with his heir, they need never share a bed again.


But Emma is no pushover. She has a few rules of her own:
- They will have dinner together every evening.
- With conversation.
- And unlimited teasing.
- Last, and most importantly… Once she’s seen the man beneath the scars, he can’t stop her from falling in love…

Waiting for an Earl Like you by Alexandra Hawkins

Series: Masters of Seduction, book 3

I did not finish this book. While in the beginning I found the story promising and even witty, it became confusing with each of the 5 characters being referred to by title, last name, relation to, or first name, all in the same scene and alternating which was used. I would like to try another book by this author however as I did see promise in the beginning.

I was provided an ARC in exchange for an honest review


The blurb:

LOVE ISN’T ALWAYS WHAT IT SEEMS.
Justin Reeve Netherwood, Earl of Kempthorn—a.k.a. Thorn—has never cared much for his neighbor’s daughter. But his twin brother, Gideon, befriended the wild, reckless, and wholly inappropriate Miss Olivia Lydall in youth, and two have been close ever since. So when Olivia finds herself in a state of romantic conflict and seeks out Gideon for advice, he’s only too pleased to oblige. Only problem: The man Olivia is speaking to is Thorn. And now it’s too late for him to tell Olivia the truth…

Thorn always believed that Olivia was too smitten with Gideon for her own good. So what’s the harm in steering her away from him? But Thorn’s charade turns out to be anything but harmless once he begins to see Olivia for who she really is: A woman full of spirit and passion…and someone he can’t live without. But how can Thorn claim Olivia’s heart when their deepening connection—and burning desire—is built on lies and deceit?

Secrets of a Summer Night by Lisa Kleypas (Audio Edition)

Narrated by Rosalyn Landor

Series: Wallflowers, Book 1

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ I think I enjoyed this more this time than I did the first time I read it. I love when the girls play rounders. I liked how Simon already knew what he wanted and set out about getting it. I think Annabelle was a strong woman and a good match for Simon.

Rosalyn Landor did a fantastic job on narration. Looking forward to listening to the rest of the series.


The Blurb:

Four young ladies at the side of the ballroom make a pact to help each other find husbands . . . no matter what it takes

Proud and beautiful Annabelle Peyton could have her pick of suitors—if only she had a dowry. Her family is on the brink of disaster, and the only way Annabelle can save them is to marry a wealthy man. Unfortunately her most persistent admirer is the brash Simon Hunt, a handsome and ambitious entrepreneur who wants her as his mistress.

Annabelle is determined to resist Simon's wicked propositions, but she can't deny her attraction to the boldly seductive rogue, any more than he can resist the challenge she presents. As they try to outmaneuver each other, they find themselves surrendering to a love more powerful than they could have ever imagined. But fate may have other plans—and it will take all of Annabelle's courage to face a peril that could destroy everything she holds dear.

An Offer from a Gentleman by Julia Quinn (Audio Edition) with 2nd Epilogue

Narrated by Rosalyn Landor
Series: Bridgertons, Book 3

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ A Cinderella story. I enjoyed this book even more the second time around. The added bonus of Posy’s story as the 2nd epilogue was a treat. Benedict and Sophie have wonderful chemistry together. I am looking forward to continuing my rereading of this series.

Rosalyn Landor did a fantastic job narrating as usual!


The Blurb:


Sophie Beckett never dreamed she'd be able to sneak into Lady Bridgerton's famed masquerade ball—or that "Prince Charming" would be waiting there for her! Though the daughter of an earl, Sophie has been relegated to the role of servant by her disdainful stepmother. But now, spinning in the strong arms of the debonair and devastatingly handsome Benedict Bridgerton, she feels like royalty. Alas, she knows all enchantments must end when the clock strikes midnight.
Who was that extraordinary woman? Ever since that magical night, a radiant vision in silver has blinded Benedict to the attractions of any other—except, perhaps, this alluring and oddly familiar beauty dressed in housemaid's garb whom he feels compelled to rescue from a most disagreeable situation. He has sworn to find and wed his mystery miss, but this breathtaking maid makes him weak with wanting her. Yet, if he offers her his heart, will Benedict sacrifice his only chance for a fairy tale love?

Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis

Series: Wildstone Book 1

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ I quite enjoyed this story. I was hesitant because there was talk of her writing a different type of book but this was very much a Shalvis book and I wasn't disappointed.  Mick and Quinn were great together. I enjoyed watching Quinn work through her new relationship with Tilly. There were some good laughs and some touching moments.  I happily recommend this book.


The Blurb:

From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes her first women's fiction novel—an unforgettable story of friendship, love, family, and sisterhood—perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover, Susan Mallery, and Kristan Higgins.

They say life can change in an instant…

After losing her sister in a devastating car accident, chef Quinn Weller is finally getting her life back on track. She appears to have it all: a loving family, a dream job in one of L.A.'s hottest eateries, and a gorgeous boyfriend dying to slip an engagement ring on her finger. So why does she feel so empty, like she's looking for a missing piece she can't find?

The answer comes when a lawyer tracks down Quinn and reveals a bombshell secret and a mysterious inheritance that only she can claim. This shocking revelation washes over Quinn like a tidal wave. Her whole life has been a lie.

On impulse, Quinn gives up her job, home, and boyfriend. She heads up the coast to the small hometown of Wildstone, California, which is just a few hours north, but feels worlds apart from Los Angeles. Though she doesn't quite fit in right away, she can't help but be drawn to the town’s simple pleasures…and the handsome, dark-haired stranger who offers friendship with no questions asked.

As Quinn settles into Wildstone, she discovers there's another surprise in store for her. The inheritance isn't a house or money, but rather something earthshattering, something that will make her question everything she thought she knew about herself, about her family. Now with a world of possibilities opening up to Quinn, she must decide if this new life is the one she was always meant to have—and the one that could finally give her the fulfillment she's searched so long for.

Again the Magic by Lisa Kleypas (Audio Edition)

Narrated by Rosalyn Landor
Series: Wallflowers Book 0

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ I enjoyed the chemistry between Aileen and MacKenna however the reason for her sending him away the second time was a bit too drawn out for me. I wish that had happened sooner. I also enjoyed the secondary romance that happens. It was like a 2 for 1 story which was great.  I am looking forward to rereading the next books in the series. I hadn't read this book before and it was a good addition, I think.

Rosalyn Landor did a fantastic job narrating as usual.


The Blurb:

She gave him her innocence…

Lady Aline Marsden was brought up for one reason: to make an advantageous marriage to a member of her own class. Instead, she willingly gave her innocence to John McKenna, a servant on her father's estate. Their passionate transgression was unforgivable—John was sent away, and Aline was left to live in the countryside... an exile from London society.

...and he took her love.

Now McKenna has made his fortune, and he has returned—more boldly handsome and more mesmerizing than before. His ruthless plan is to take revenge on the woman who shattered his dreams of love. But the magic between them burns as bright as ever. And now he must decide whether to let vengeance take its toll…or risk everything for his first, and only, love.